2018 Awards

Download the documents here >>

Background of Awards
The annual Australasian Ambulance Awards for Excellence have been developed by the Council of Ambulance Authorities to acknowledge and encourage innovations from Ambulance Services throughout Australia, New Zealand and Papua New Guinea. These awards provide a platform for the industry to learn from each other and reduce duplication of effort.

To encourage Ambulance Services to showcase their achievements and be recognised for any EXCEPTIONAL project, quality or performance in ANY area of their organisation.

Call for Nominations
The recipients of awards must be employed by an Ambulance Service who is a current member of the CAA. Collaborative projects involving an Ambulance Service employee/unit and a public or private sector organisation will also be eligible to receive an award.

Nominations for the awards can be submitted by any person who is an employee or an Ambulance Service in Australia, New Zealand or Papua New Guinea. The submission must have approval by their Chief Executive.

Projects may be backdated to 1 January 2016. The backdating period will be revised every year by the CAA.

Award categories
There are four broad categories in which individuals or groups/units can enter their project. Successful submissions will demonstrate the benefit the new initiative will have for the patient.

A project can only be entered in one category per year. However, an individual or group/unit can enter more than one project per year.

The 2018 ‘Star Award’ will be presented to the overall winner selected from these category winners. The winner of this award will be identified as having, or proceeding to have, successfully developed, implemented and evaluated a project that is considered the most valuable for adoption by all CAA members.

Categories for entry are:

CategoryExplanation of category
Technical Capability Equipment, fleet workshops, bases, communications and information systems
Clinical Capability Skills mix, pharmacology, clinical intervention. (Relates to patient treatment and outcomes)
Education Program design, delivery, assessment and accreditation. Professional development, skills maintenance and practice standards (includes community education). Research and/or innovation supporting evidence based practice.
Management Practice / Operational Performance Management culture, open communication, accountability, management development, professional standards and diversity of workforce.
Operational protocols, work practices. (Related to how service delivery is provided)



6th April 2018