Loading color scheme

CAA logoANZ Logo

Australia and New Zealand collectively have a paramedic workforce of more than 17,000 supported by more than 11,000 trained volunteer first responders. 

The Council of Ambulance Authorities (CAA) represents the ten statutory ambulance services, which employ these paramedics who are sought after across the world. 

In 2019, CAA has also welcomed St John Ambulance Papua New Guinea as a member. 

Equally, the expert workforce from call takers and researches to fleet supervisors and strategic business analysts, contribute to the delivery of an unrivalled service to foster and build the health and wellbeing of Australians and New Zealanders in cities, towns and isolated remote communities. 

CAA represents a unified voice for the pre-hospital sector working to respond to changing community needs with patient-centred practices. 

Ambulance service representatives on three committees, eight working groups and five forums contribute to CAA’s focus on evidence-based initiatives and projects designed to keep ambulance services at the forefront of paramedicine. 

CAA’s national events and representations in international forums build on strategic relationships with government and agencies to help address challenges and deliver optimum services. 

The Chief Executive Officer reports to a Board comprising chief executives from each service.

 CAA 2019 Committee Structure Chart 121119





CAA Chair
Mr Dominic Morgan, Commissioner
NSW Ambulance Service

CAA Deputy Chair
Mr Russell Bowles, Commissioner
Queensland Ambulance Service

Mr Howard Wren, CO
ACT Ambulance Service

Mr Neil Kirby, CEO
Ambulance Tasmania

Mr Tony Walker, CEO
Ambulance Victoria

Mr David Place, CEO
SA Ambulance Service

Ms Judith Barker CEO
St John Ambulance NT

Ms Michelle Fyfe, CEO
St John Ambulance WA

Mr Peter Bradley,
CEO - St John NZ

Mr Mike Grant, CEO
Wellington Free Ambulance

Mr Matt Cannon, CEO
St John Papua New Guinea



David Waters
Chief Executive Officer

Mojca Bizjak-Mikic
General Manager

Sarah Lovett
Executive Assistant - CEO and GM

Lilya Sher
Project Coordinator

Catherine Neilson
Coordinator, Executive and Program Support

Franca James
Communications Officer

Chris Hornsey

Nikki Murphy
Events & Conference Officer

CAA20 Congress 3